Bhubaneswar: Following the death of BJD’s Patkura Assembly candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla on Saturday, the Kendrapara Sub Collector and Returning Officer Sanjay Kumar Mishra today postponed the poll to be held on April 29 in the constituency.

The returning officer in a notification stated as per the provisions in Section 52(1) (c) of the Representation of People Act, 1951, the election scheduled to be held on April 29 has been adjourned till the next date of notification for elections in the Patkura Assembly constituency by Election Commission of India.

The Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar has intimated the Election Commission of India for initiating further necessary course of action.

The list of candidates who will be in the poll fray was published by the returning officer on April 12.
Bijoy Mohapatra was BJP’s candidate for the assembly seat, whereas Jayant Mohapatra was contesting from Congress ticket.

Agarwalla had won the Patkura seat twice on BJD ticket in 2009 and 2014.

Other Stories