• otv
Sharmili Mallick

Jharsuguda: The Kalahandi district administration has declared a village as micro containment zone while the Jharsuguda district administration has declared 12 places as micro containment zones.

As per reports, Chilchila village under Brahmanchhendia gram panchayat in Dharamgarh block of Kalahandi has been declared containment zone and nearby Thanat village as buffer zone after six persons of Chilchila were tested positive for Covid-19 on Saturday.

In Jharsuguda, as many as eight places, including Beheramal, Sarbahal, Jhanda Chowk, Bombey Chowk, Sarbahal 1, Railway Colony, Kabristan Pada and Railway Colony 1 under Jharsuguda Municipality have been declared as micro containment zones.

Similarly, three places- Maluapada, Kutrachuan and Naxapali under Kirmira Block and Piplimal under under Lakhanpur Block have been declared micro containment zones by the Jharsuguda district Collector Saroj Kumar Samal yesterday.

Due to the rising cases in neighbouring Chhattisgarh, the Jharsuguda district administration has intensified checking at the borders and all vehicles coming to Odisha from Chhattisgarh are being thoroughly checked to ensure compliance with Covid-19 norms and sensitising the returnees.

The Jharsuguda district administration has also prohibited weekly haat in the district for the next three weeks. “Daily vegetables and non-vegetarian food items markets will be dispersed over multiple locations. The people are requested to cooperate with the district administration to fight against the resurgence of Covid-19 cases,” said the Collector Saroj Kumar Samal.

Meanwhile, all vehicular movement, both public and private have been stopped in the containment zones. However, vehicles permitted for the supply of essential items including medicines, health surveillance, sanitization and other necessary activities are allowed.

All the inhabitants of the containments zones will stay indoors and violation will invite strict penal action. All types of institutions and establishments in the containment zones will also remain closed.

On the other hand, the Odisha government on Saturday clamped night curfew restrictions in 10 districts, including Kalahandi and Jharsuguda which have been witnessing a surge in Covid-19 cases since the last few days. The night curfew restrictions will come into effect from April 5 from 10 PM to 5 AM.

All the shops, commercial establishments, offices, institutions and movement of individuals shall remain closed/ prohibited between 10 PM and 5 AM, except for essential activities in these district.

(Edited By Rashmi Ranjan Mohanty)

Other Stories