• otv
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: A few days after announcing the names of District Congress Chiefs (DCCs), Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) has planned to form zonal, district and booth level committees by July 15.

OPCC Chief Niranjan Patnaik stated though not much time is left, the party will ensure formation of the committees within the deadline.

Responding to a query on if only his supporters will be accommodated in the committees, Patnaik stated, “All Congress members are my people and there is no question of ‘my people’ and ‘his people’. In fact people from across all sections who wish the betterment of Odisha are invited to join Congress.”

In a major change ahead of the 2019 elections, the State unit of the party had effected a major change on June 10 by appointing 22 new district presidents following an approval from the national party president Rahul Gandhi.

Of 33 party organisation districts, chiefs of 11 districts retained their posts. Along with the DCCs, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) had also appointed working presidents for some districts.

Other Stories