• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi: The Indian Railways on Sunday cancelled three trains and diverted six others following the derailment of Puri-Haridwar Kalinga Utkal Express in Khatauli, near Muzaffarnagar in which 21 people were killed and more than 156 passengers were injured.

As restoration work is underway, some major changes have been made in the schedule of trains passing through the particular route.

The list of trains that have been cancelled include 18478/18477 Haridwar-Puri Kalinga Utkal Express, 14521/14522 Ambala-Delhi- Ambala Intercity Express and the 14682 Jalandhar-New Delhi Intercity Express. Utkal Express which was scheduled to leave Haridwar today has been cancelled along with the train scheduled to depart from Puri on August 22.

18477 Utkal Express that met with the unfortunate mishap will run on diverted route via Hazrat Nizamuddin-Shamli-Tapri Station route, railway sources said.

Apart from this, six other trains have been diverted, the railway ministry said in a statement.

The 18238 Amritsar-Bilaspur Chhatisgarh Express has been diverted via Ambala- Panipat-New Delhi-Hazrat Nizamuddin, it said.

The 12904 Amritsar-Mumbai Central Golden Temple Mail has been diverted via Ambala-Panipat- New Delhi-Hazrat Nizamuddin.

The 14646 Jammu Tawi-Delhi Shalimar Express has been diverted via Ambala-Panipat-Delhi.

Also Read: Utkal Express derailment: 5 bodies identified, no Odia in list: ECoR

The 19326 Amritsar-Indore Express has been diverted via Ambala-Panipat-New Delhi- Hazrat Nizamuddin.

The 04402 Katra-Anand Vihar service has been diverted via Ambala-Panipat-Delhi and will be short terminated at Delhi.

The 24155 Allahabad-Udhampur Express has been terminated via Khurja-Delhi-Panipat-Ambala.

Meanwhile, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu has directed Chairman Railway Board (CRB) to fix responsibility on prima facie evidence by end of the day. 

Other Stories