We Report, You Decide

Three more Aahar centres to come up in Cuttack

Cuttack: The Odisha government has decided to open three more Aahar centres in the Millennium city here.

Informing the media on Monday, Urban Development secretary G Mathivathanan said as per the decision taken at a review meeting with the district administration, the three new Aahar centres will be set up at Jagatpur, City Hospital and Acharya Harihar Regional Cancer Centre.

“The three new Aahar centres would be inaugurated on April 14,” said Mathivathanan who visited the city to take stock of the jaundice situation.

With the three new centres, the city will have seven Aahar centres. At present there are four Aahar centres at Badambadi bus terminal, SCB Medical College and Hospital, Sishu Bhawan and Chhatra Bazar.

Under the Aahar scheme, the state government assures to provide meal comprising rice and dalma at Rs 5 to over 25,000 urban poor daily in the state.

Read Our Next Story

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)