• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Odisha Police achieved a place of pride among States by bagging 17 Police Medals for Gallantry (PMG), one President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPMDS) and eight Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PMMS). The awards were announced on the eve of 71st Independence Day and will be given away during the next Republic Day celebrations.

Additional Superintendent of Police Rabindra Kumar Mohapatra will be receiving the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service, as per a release by Ministry of Home Affairs New Delhi, today.

Police medal for gallantry will be awarded to Sub Inspector Bikash Patra, Havildars Bhabani Pradhan and Amit Kumar Biswal, Deputy Subedar Kiran Kumar, Sergeants Tunu Sahoo and Santanu Kumar Pradhan and Constables Manoranjan Nayak, Uday Sankar Patra, Dhaneswar Muduli, Premananda Pradhan, Mahadev Gahir, Hemanta Pradhan, Hrushikesh Jal, Raj Kishore Pradhan, Ram Chandra Hembram, Samanta Majhi and Suresh Chandra Hembram (posthumously).

Police medal for Meritorious Service (PMMS) will be awarded to eight personnel including Additional Superintendent of Police Kartikeswar Samal, Assistant Inspector General of Police Kishore Kumar Dongayat, Assistant Commandant Naresh Kumar Patel, Sub-Inspector Bijay Kishore Dash, Havildars Mohammad Sabir and Goutam Charan Swain and Constables Sagar Charan Guia and Sanjukta Pattnaik.

Also Read: I-Day celebrations in Bhubaneswar: Know the traffic diversions

According to the release, 990 personnel have been named to be awarded Police Medals.

While the President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG) has been awarded to one person, 190 have been chosen for Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), 93 for President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPMDS) and 706 personnel for Police Medal for Meritorious Service (PMMS) from all the States.

Adding to the tally, Indrajit Rout, Warder of Athagarh Sub-Jail has been chosen to receive Correctional Service Medal for Meritorious Service.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister in a tweet message congratulated police personnel, who were selected for President’s Police Medals for Distinguished, Meritorious service and Gallantry.

Other Stories