• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced Rs 60 lakh cash special incentive for six sportswomen of the state, who have qualified for the Rio Olympics beginning from August 5.

The six sportspersons—sprinters Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda and four hockey players Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Sunita Lakra—would receive Rs 10 lakh each.

While directing the Odisha Mining Corporation (OMC) to pay the special incentive to these six sportsmen, the chief minister said the incentive would be of immense help for them to prepare for the mega event.

“I hope that the six sportswomen will come out with flying colours and bring glory for their state and the country,” he added.

While Dutee has qualified to participate in the 100-metre run, Srabani has qualified for 200-metre run event. Both of them have also qualified for the 4X100-metre relay race. Besides, the four hockey players of the state have found places in the Indian women’s hockey team for the mega event.

Other Stories