Thumba: Odisha were bowled out for 152 runs by Jharkhand on the opening day of their Group B clash here on Thursday.

Odisha slumped to the low score at the St Xavier's College Ground due to a combination of slack batting and disciplined bowling.

Jharkhand won the toss and elected to field and the decision was vindicated by left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem (4/31) and off-spinner Sunny Gupta (3/56), who were the chief wicket takers, bundling out Odisha in 84 overs.

In reply, Jharkhand's openers Anand Singh and Sumit Kumar saw off the four remaining overs, scoring 9/0.

Also Read: Ranji Trophy: Odisha make it to quarters after 15 years

Sandeep Pattnaik (43) was the highest scorer for Odisha, followed by his opening partner Ranjit Singh (20).

They put on 46 for the first wicket stand but after Ranjit's departure in the 28th over, their innings fell apart as they lost wickets at regular intervals, ultimately folding for a very low score.

Brief scores: Odisha first innings 152 (Sandeep Pattnaik 43, Ranjit Singh 20, Shahbaz Nadeem 4/31, Sunny Gupta 3/56)

Other Stories