• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: BJD spokesperson and party’s Rajya Sabha nominee Pratap Deb was elected uncontested to the lone vacant seat from Odisha in Rajya Sabha today.

An official announcement in this regard was made by the returning officer for the by-election. The statement quoted “Pratap Deb, sponsored by Biju Janata Dal has been duly elected to fill the vacancy caused in the House by resignation of Bishnu Charan Das.”

Deb had filed his nomination for the Rajya Sabha on May 15 and as the opposition did not field any candidates, he was automatically elected.

The by-poll was necessitated following the resignation of Bishnu Charan Das on March 21 who was appointed as Deputy Chairman of Odisha State Planning Board.

Deb who served as a minister in Naveen’s cabinet from 2009 to 2014 lost the Assembly seat from Aul and was currently appointed as party’s spokesperson and chairman of Odisha State Housing Board.

Other Stories