We Report, You Decide

Plus-II admissions: Some of the best colleges to look at

With results of the High School Certificate (HSC) Examination out, here’s a list of some of the best colleges in the state where, students can apply for higher studies.  Though the list could be endless, we cover some colleges in the twin cities of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack besides Puri, Sambalpur and Balasore.

Buxi Jagabandhu Bidyadhar (BJB Junior) College, Bhubaneswar


The Buxi Jagabandhu Bidyadhar College, better known as BJB College, offers courses at the higher secondary level that are affiliated to the Council of Higher Secondary Education (CHSE), Odisha. It is an autonomous institution recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India and enjoys the status of an A-Grade college as assessed by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC).The seat capacity for Arts, Science and Commerce streams is 512, 544 and 192, respectively.

For more information log on to www.bjbcollege.in

- Advertisement -

Ravenshaw Junior College, Cuttack


Ravenshaw Junior College is a hub of excellence and an epitome of Higher Secondary Education in Odisha. This junior college began from the academic session 1998-99 after being separated from the Degree and Post Graduate wings of the then Ravenshaw College, at present Ravenshaw University. The seat intake for Arts, Science and Commerce streams is 512, 384 and 256, respectively.

To know more about the institution log on to www.ravenshawjuniorcollege.org

Rama Devi Women’s (Junior) College, Bhubaneswar


The erstwhile Rama Devi Women’s Autonomous College was upgraded to a university by the State Government on 30th May, 2015. Started in 1964 as Government Women’s College, it was renamed as Rama Devi Women’s College in 1969 in the name of Maa Rama Devi, the brave freedom fighter and ardent follower of Mahatma Gandhi.  Initially 46 Women’s Colleges affiliated to Utkal University were brought under its jurisdiction. The seat capacity for Arts, Science and Commerce streams is 512, 384 and 256, respectively.

For further details log on to www.rdwuniversity.nic.in

Rajdhani (Junior) College, Bhubaneswar


This college imparts education at +2 and +3 level in Science, Arts and Commerce streams and in +3 level students can opt for honors degree as well. The sanctioned strength at the higher secondary level is 256 for Arts, 384 for Science and 128 for Commerce.

For more details log on to www.rajdhanicollege.org.in

Shailabala Women’s College, Cuttack


Shailabala Women’s College, also known as SB Women’s College, is a state-run postgraduate, undergraduate and junior +2 women’s college on Madhusudan road in Cuttack. It is Odisha’s first women’s degree college named after Shailabala Das, the adopted daughter of Utkal Gourava Madhusudan Das. It Accredited with ‘A’Grade by NAAC (UGC) 2nd Cycle. The sanctioned strength is 256 each for Arts and Science and 64 for Commerce.

For details log on to www.shailabalawomenscollege.com 

Christ College, Cuttack


This college was founded in 1944 by the Cuttack Christian Education Board (CCEB) in the name of Utkal Christian College and was affiliated to the Utkal University as an Intermediate College in Arts. In the academic session 1946-47, it was raised to the status of a Degree College in Arts with honours teaching facilities in English and Odia. Christ College has been accredited B+ by the NAAC. The sanctioned strength for Arts, Science and Commerce is 256, 384 and 256, respectively.

Log on to www.christcollege.ac.in to know more about the college

Fakir Mohan Autonomous College, Balasore


Originally named Balasore College, Fakir Mohan College was established on 6th July 1944. On 2nd August 1949, it was renamed Fakir Mohan College after the great Oriya poet and novelist Vyasakabi Fakir Mohan Senapati. The college has been accredited by NAAC with B++ Grade and subsequently declared as a center with potential for Excellence (CPE) by UGC. The total seat capacity for Arts, Science,  as well as Commerce course is 384,448 and 320, respectively.

For details log on to www.fmcollege.nic.in

SCS Autonomous College, Puri  


Samanta Chandra Sekhara Autonomous College was named after the legendary astronomer Samanta Chandra Sekhar popularly known as Pathani Samanta. The college resembles Santiniketan because of its sylvan setting and peaceful atmosphere.The sanctioned number of seats for  Arts, Science and Commerce is 512, 512 and 256, respectively.

For details, log on to www.scscollege.nic.in

GM College sambalpur


Established in 1944 as Sambalpur College, the name of the institution was changed to Gangadhar Meher College in 1949 after the name of the illustrious Odia poet. Basically, it aims at educating weaker sections, which constitute half of the population of Western part of Orissa. The strength for Arts, Science  and Commerce is 512, 288 and 320, respectively.

Log on to www.gmcollege.org for further details

Khallikote Autonomous College, Berhampur


The Khallikote Autonomous College is one of the oldest educational institutions of India. It was started as a school in 1856 in Berhampur and became an intermediate College in 1878. Its earlier name was Native College. The present name Khallikote Autonomous College was conferred on it in 1893 as a token of the good gesture shown by Raja of Khallikote. The sanctioned strength for Arts, Science and Commerce is 512, 512 and 384, respectively.

Log on to www.khallikotecollege.org for further details.

Read Our Next Story

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)