• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: With the official tabulation and declaration of results of panchayat elections concluded today, BJD retained the top position by grabbing 472 Zilla Parishad zones and BJP rose to second spot with 298 seats. Congress slipped to third position with only 60 seats.

Similarly, Independent and other candidates have managed to pocket 16 zones.

Out of 849 ZP zones, results of 846 were declared while results of three other zones, one each from Cuttack, Bolangir and Ganjam district, have been put on hold over various reasons.

Elections were held for 849 Zilla Parishad zones in five phases between February 13 and 21. The final results were declared at block offices with the tabulation ended on Sunday. The State Election Commission (SEC) would publish a detailed report of the victorious candidates later, sources said.

The BJD secured majority to form Zilla Parishad in 17 districts while BJP would rule in eight districts and Congress in one. The pictures of Nabarangpur, Gajapati, Rayagada and Sundergarh district has remained unclear.

Other Stories