• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: In line with the trend observed in the results of the first phase of the 3-tier panchayat polls in State, BJP’s performance has made many to sit up and take notice as the saffron party went on to claim 56 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones in 172 out of 174 zones which went for polling in the second phase which concluded on February 15.

The ruling BJD emerged as winner by claiming 97 ZP zones and was closely followed by BJP. Congress’ dismal performance continued as it was only able to win 15 ZP zones. Four zones were claimed by the Independent candidates.

Continuing its good run in Kalahandi district in the second phase, BJP again made a clean sweep by claiming all the 9 ZP zones where polls were conducted in the second phase. In the first phase BJP had also claimed all the 9 zones. Out of the total 36 zones in Kalahandi, BJP has claimed 18 zones so far.

The Congress, whose performance has been poor so far claimed the Jharsuguda ZP zone after winning all the 3 zones which went for polls in the second phase. In the first phase, Congress emerged winner in 2 zones. Out of the total 9 ZP zones in Jharsuguda, Congress has now won 5.

Also Read: Panchayat polls: BJD claims 96 ZP seats, BJP 64 in first phase

The ruling BJD was able to claim the ZP in Boudh district after winning in 2 zones out of three in the second phase of polling by taking its tally to 5 zones out of total 9 in the district.

BJD made a clean sweep in Balasore by claiming all the 8 ZP zones where polls were conducted in the second phase.

Elsewhere, in Bolangir, out of the 7 ZP zones where polls were conducted today, BJP emerged winner in 4 while 2 zones went to BJD. Congress is yet to open its account in the district after 2 phases of polling.

In Malkangiri, out of the 3 zones, BJP won 2 while Congress claimed 1. In Sonepur, out of the 3 zones, BJD emerged winner in 2 while the other zone went to BJP. In Nayagarh, BJP claimed 3 zones and 1 went to BJD out of the 4 zones where polls were conducted. In Nuapara, out of the 3 zones, BJD won 2 while 1 zone went to Congress’ account. In Khurda district, BJD claimed 5 out of 6 ZP zones while BJP won 1 zone. In Mayurbhanj, out to the 12 zones where polls were conducted, 10 went to BJP while 1 each was claimed by BJD and independent candidate. In Koraput, BJD and Congress claimed 4 and 2 zones respectively out of the total 6 zones.

Other Stories