• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Government will soon form a Higher Education Council for development of higher education in State. An ordinance over this has been approved by the State Cabinet on Tuesday.

Though the State government had mulled formation of the Council earlier, but it had not been possible.

Talking to OTV, Higher Education Minister Ananta Das said, “The Higher Education Council is formed in compliance with the Central Government guidelines. At present, ‘quantity’ in education is being stressed and not ‘quality’; many students are passing their examinations but are performing below standard, therefore this step has been taken to develop the standards.”

The Council will consist of 15 members with State Higher Education Minister as the Chairperson and an administrator of professor rank will be the Vice-Chairperson. Vice Chancellors of three universities, Principals of two Autonomous Colleges, a Central Government representative, a scientist and an able administrator will also be included in the team.

Rules for formation of the Council are also mentioned in National Policy on Education (NPE), 1986 and Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) of Central Government.

Many universities and educationists have welcomed this decision of the government.

“RUSA had been asking for it. This is the requirement to spend RUSA funds and develop plans. World Bank grants may also be included. The council was a statutory requirement that has been set up in many states but was pending here. It is a welcome step and I am sure any input into higher education is a much needed input,” said Vice Chancellor of Utkal University Ashok Kumar Das.

Other Stories