We Report, You Decide

Odisha draw against Vidarbha

Visakhapatnam: Odisha put up an improved batting display led by skipper Govinda Poddar’s fifty to eke out a draw against Vidarbha who settled for three points by virtue of their first innings lead in their Ranji Trophy group B match here today.

Resuming on 74 for no loss with 48 runs in arrears, Odisha lost Sandeep Patnaik (40) after the addition of just four runs. The debutant got out to Lalit Yadav without adding anything to his overnight total.

But Odisha skipper Poddar held the innings together with a 58 (6×4, 1×6), his 13th first-class half century, before being dismissed at the stroke of lunch by Yadav 2/42).

In the second session, Odisha lost three wickets in seven runs — Subhranshu Senapati (34), Haladhar Das (two) and Biplab Samantray (23) — with Akshay Wakhare (3/61) striking twice in successive overs but Deepak Behera held fort with a defiant 31 not out to force a draw.

Having impressed with his medium pace bowling en route to a 3/35 yesterday, Behera wielded the willow with three two fours and three sixes in an entertaining 64-run eighth wicket stand with Basant Mohanty (24; 3×4, 1×6).

Poddar declared their second innings with 274/9 in 102.1 as the match ended in a draw and Odisha returned with one point.

Brief Scores

Odisha 1st Innings: 150 and 2nd Innings: 274/9 declared; 102.1 overs (Govinda Poddar 58; Akshay Wakhare 3/61, Ravi Jangid 2/21, Lalit Yadav 2/42, Aditya Sarvate 2/64).

Vidarbha 1st Innings: 272/6 declared; 102 overs (Faiz Fazal 99; Deepak Behera 3/35).

Points: Vidarbha 3, Odisha 1.

You might also like

Comments are closed.