• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Today Odisha is celebrating 81 years of its foundation. Celebrations to mark the day also known as 'Utkal Divas' are being organised at various places across the State.

On April 1, 1936, Odisha was formed as an independent State on linguistic basis. It was only after three decades of revolution carried out under the aegis of Utkal Sammilani that Odisha got the independent status.

The persons leading the revolution were Utkala Gouraba Madhusudan Das, Utkala mani Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandita Nilakantha Das, Fakir Mohan Senapati, Gangadhar Meher, Basudeba Sudhaladeba, Radhanath Ray, Bhubanananda Das, A. P. Patro and many others.

To commemorate the day, Odisha Assembly, Secretariat, Jaydev Bhawan, Rabindra Mandap, AG Office, Housing Board office, Reserve Bank of India office and many other important offices and buildings have been decorated from yesterday night.

Other Stories