• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Governor SC Jamir today fixed May 16 as the date for election of the Speaker of State Legislative Assembly (OLA) following resignation of Niranjan Pujari from the post on May 5.

In a letter to the members of the OLA, assembly secretary AK Sarangi informed them that the election for the post of speaker will be held at 3 PM on May 16.

Niranjan Pujari was made a minister in the Naveen Patnaik's council of ministers leading to vacancy of the Speaker's post.

Senior BJD leader Pradip Kumar Amat, who resigned as the Finance and Health minister on May 6, is likely to become Speaker of the OLA again.

Other Stories