Bhubaneswar: Rajya Sabha MP Prasanna Acharya was on Monday named as the ruling Biju Janata Dal's leader in the Upper House of the Parliament.

BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today wrote a letter to Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu apprising him about the decision, a party release said.

The post was lying vacant since the completion of BJD MP Dillip Tirkey's tenure in April.

The BJD has nine MPs in the Rajya Sabha out of the state's 10 seats in the Upper House.

The Opposition Congress has a lone member in the Rajya Sabha from Odisha.