We Report, You Decide

Met Dept issues lightning alert for 12 districts


Bhubaneswar: The regional centre of India Meteorological Department (IMD) in Bhubaneswar has issued lightning warning for 12 districts of Odisha till 4:30 PM today.

The alert has been sounded for Gajapati, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur, Sundergarh, Deogarh, Khorda, Angul, Dhenkanal and Jajpur.

The warning was issued after satellite images of Doppler Weather Radar indicated thunderstorm with lightning and heavy rainfall at one or two places over the above mentioned districts.

Meanwhile, the government has taken a new initiative to prevent lightning deaths by issuing alerts on mobile phones by means of multi messaging services or voice messages.

It may be mentioned that the State has so far recorded 20 per cent of all lightning deaths in the country.

Also Read: BJD Begins ‘Hak Pain Hartal’ Against Fuel Price Hike

You might also like

Comments are closed.

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)