Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The main Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Advanced test conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) began on Sunday.

Of the about 1.5 lakh students who are appearing in the examinations in the countrywide, 3,317 are from Odisha.

As per a CBSE notification, the JEE Advanced test would be held in two sittings. While the first sitting which started from 9.00 am would end at 12.00 pm. The second sitting will start at 2 pm and end at 5 pm.

Though the examination started at 9:00 am, candidates have been asked to report at the examination centre at 7:30 am, the notification stated. The CBSE has set the cut off mark for the examination at 100.

The examination would be held in seven centres in Bhubaneswar and two in Rourkela.

Admission into IIITs, ISM Dhanbad and other centrally funded technical institutions will be based on this year’s entrance test scores.

As many as 48,000 students appeared at the JEE Main offline test at 71 centres in nine cities across the State. The centres designated by the CBSE for the written offline tests were Bhubaneswar, Angul, Balasore, Berhampur, Bhawanipatna, Cuttack, Jeypore, Rourkela and Sambalpur.