• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: In a significant development, four educational institutions from Odisha have been granted full autonomy in academic and administrative decision-making for maintaining high standards of excellence based on NAAC (National Accreditation and Assessment Council) scores.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) on Tuesday approved full autonomy to 62 higher educational institutions across the country including four from Odisha- Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, National Law University, Cuttack, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar and Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar.

The decision was taken at a UGC meeting where five central universities, 21 state universities, 24 deemed universities besides 2 private universities and 8 other colleges were granted full autonomy status.

Must Read: Family Time With Kapil Sharma: Is Sunil Grover ready to join Kapil?

Union human resource development minister Prakash Javadekar hailed the development as "historic" and said it will enable the selected institutes to decide their admission procedure, fee structure and curriculum, among others.

"Today is a historic day for higher education in India. These quality institutions will get complete autonomy by which they can start new courses, new departments, new programmes, off campuses, skill courses, research parks, appoint foreign faculty, take foreign students, offer variable incentive packages, introduce online distance learning."

For more details, click here.....http://pib.nic.in/newsite/PrintRelease.aspx?relid=177751

With agency inputs

Other Stories