• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The number of Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected districts in Odisha has come down from 19 to to 15, said Director General of Police (DGP) RP Sharma.

Briefing mediapersons, the DGP said, while six districts- Ganjam, Gajapati, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Jajpur and Dhenkanal - have been deleted from the list, the Home ministry has added Angul and Boudh in it.

Though Maoist violence have been reported from only eight districts last year, the ministry decided to retain 15 districts as LWE hit because of the influence of the rebels in those areas, he added.

The 15 districts which have been identified as LWE-hit are Koraput, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Sambalpur, Sundergarh, Nayagarh, Kandhamal, Deogarh, Klahandi, Nuapada, Bargarh, Bolangir, Angul and Boudh.

Other Stories