Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The admission of SC/ST students into 11 model schools will begin from this academic year, informed Minister for Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Castes Development Ramesh Majhi on Thursday.

Students will be enrolled at one Biju Patnaik Model School, six Ekalavya Model Residential Schools and four Kalinga Model Residential Schools in the State.

“A notification has been issued and the district welfare officers have been directed to start the admission process at the 11 model schools at the earliest,” said Majhi.

A total of 60 students, who qualified in entrance exam, will be enrolled in 10 residential schools whereas 120 students can take admissions at the Biju Patnaik Model School, he added.

Ekalavya residential schools are located in Kuchinda of Sambalpur, Dumuribahal of Bolangir, Bikrampur of Rayagada, Bangiriposi of Mayurbhanj and Panposh of Sundargarh district while the Biju Patnaik model school is located in Kanisi of Berhampur.

Four Kalinga model residential schools are in Korakunda of Malkangiri, Raikia and Khajuripada of Kandhamal and Umerkote of Nabarangpur district.