• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Just two days after he had asked his party MPs to resign from the membership of Parliamentary Standing Committees, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today took a u-turn and said that no changes will be effected in the existing memberships as of now.

The BJD's parliamentary party leader Bhartruhari Mahtab today informed that the MPs do not have to handover their resignation from the parliamentary committees as the CM has changed his earlier decision.

As the tenure of the MPs in the committees will expire in the next few months, the CM has decided not to go for any changes or fresh recommendations, Mahtab said.

However, it is believed that brewing resentment within the parliamentarians against the decision to quit membership forced the CM to change his earlier decision.

Meanwhile, Mahatab on the other hand on Tuesday sought removal of Kendrapara MP Baijayant Panda from the standing committee on Home Affairs citing his suspension from the BJD.

In a letter to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, the Cuttack MP also requested that Panda should be allocated a separate seat away from the seats earmarked for the BJD MPs in the Lok Sabha Chamber.

Other Stories