Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today felicitated 20 winners of the 10th edition of Young Astronomer Talent Search (YATS) Programme-2016-17, at a function here which was organized by Tata Steel in collaboration with Pathani Samanta Planetarium on the occasion of the birth anniversary of legendary astronomer Pathani Samanta.

Tata Steel will take these 20 winners for an exposure visit to one of the facilities of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 2017.

“I am very happy that Pathani Samanta Planetarium along with Tata Steel is working sincerely to promote scientific legacy of Pathani Samanta in Odisha. This event has been successful in encouraging budding talents of our state in the field of space science. It is an opportunity for the students of rural and remote areas to exhibit their talents in astronomy. I hope this endeavor will be successful in helping our young students to become space scientists in future,” the chief minister said in his address.

Addressing the gathering, TV Narendran, MD, Tata Steel, India & South East Asia, said, “Tata Steel takes pride in conducting YATS. We have covered many numbers of students across 27 districts of Odisha. Our relationship with Odisha is very long and we are very much grateful to Odisha government and the chief minister for their continuous support.”

After a four-month long exercise to find 20 best young talents in the state, YATS was concluded today. The 10th edition witnessed participation of nearly  34,000 students from over 300 schools, spread over 27 districts of Odisha in the essay and quiz competitions.

YATS is organised to acknowledge the exemplary contribution of Pathani Samanta, and encourage youngsters to display their talents in scientific innovation and concepts on various themes of space science and astronomy.

Higher Education, Science and Technology and Rural Development minister Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy, Kailash Chandra Sahoo, Director, Pathani Samanta Planetarium and Arun Misra, Vice President, Project Gopalpur, Tata Steel and Managing Director, Tata Steel SEZ and Chanakya Choudhary, Group Director, Corporate Communication and Regulatory Affairs, Tata Steel were among the dignitaries were present on the occasion.