• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar/Bargarh: It was again a show of strength by political parties including BJD, BJP and Congress as they left no stone unturned to woo voters ahead of the crucial Bijepur bypoll.

On his second day of campaign in the Assembly constituency, Odisha Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik addressed public meetings in Gaisilat block and asked people to vote for the party’s candidate, Rita Sahu.

The CM also promised to personally monitor the developmental works in the block adding that the party will continue to fight for the Mahanadi issue.

On the other hand, Union Ministers Ram Kripal Yadav and Dharmendra Pradhan carried out campaigns in Gaisilet and Barpali blocks and tried to woo voters by highlighting several central welfare schemes.

Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan lashed out at CM Naveen over his remark to elect Rita Sahu for one year.

“Who will be the MLA after one year? CM Naveen today spoke his heart. After one year, the CM’s close aide Sushant Singh will be BJD’s candidate from Bijepur,” said Pradhan.

Congress on the other hand continued with its strategy to reach out to people as much as possible through its canvassing and blamed both the BJP and the BJD for lack of development in Bijepur.

While the party’s senior leader Narasingha Mishra campaigned for Pranay Sahu in Gaisilat block, Srikant Jena and Jayadev Jena addressed public meetings in Banpali under Barpali blocks respectively.

“Congress will form the government at the centre in 2019 and its foundation will be laid at Bijepur,” said Jayadev.

The voting for the Bijepur Assembly constituency will be held on February 24 and the results will be out on February 28.

Also Read

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.