• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: A day after Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) chief Prasad Harichandan said that the state unit of the party will have a ‘Nabakalebara’ (revamp) from booth-level to the top, National Party President Rahul Gandhi today appointed three new secretaries in charge of the state.

The three new secretaries - former party MLAs Rudra Raju from Andhra Pradesh, Anil Kumar Chaudhary from Delhi and Ex MLA Shaikh Mastan Vali, will assume their posts with immediate effect, an official release from the All India Congress Committee (AICC) said.

The trio will replace the outgoing Subhankar Sarkar who stepped down from the post.

Besides, party leader Aditya Sharma has also been appointed as Joint Secretary, AICC Odisha with immediate effect, the release added.

Earlier on March 31, party president Rahul Gandhi had appointed former Union minister Jitendra Singh as the state in-charge replacing B K Hariprasad.

"It is a matter of great relief for our Congress leaders as Odisha is now the focus of the party president Rahul Gandhi. The appointment of three new secretaries and some other replacement made recently hints towards a major change in the fortunes of the party in coming days. The decision by the party chief will surely inspire workers and leaders," party leader Sarat Rout said.

Meanwhile, even as speculations continue to heat up debates over possible change of guard sources also indicate that in few days party's block and district reorganisation is on the cards.

Other Stories