Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: After registering emphatic win in three north eastern States, BJP is now confident of continuing its winning streak, said Union Minister Jual Oram on Sunday.

Reposing faith on the mission 120 plus target fixed by party president Amit Shah for Odisha, Oram claimed to form government by dethroning Naveen Patnaik.

"The organisation that had awarded former Tripura CM Manik Sarkar also felicitated Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik. We have already defeated one and we hope people of Odisha will give opportunity to thank them in 2019," said Oram.

Reaffirming party president's statements that BJP's 'Golden Period' will begin post wins in Odisha, Bengal and Kerala, Oram asserted that efforts are on to ensure strengthening party's base here.

Commenting on BJP's performance in Bijepur by-election, Oram said that the party could not achieve the desired results owing to fixing between Congress and BJD and misuse of government machinery during the polls.

While responding to media query on BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate for Odisha, Oram said that party's central leadership will declare at the appropriate time.

"BJP can even contest elections and get success without CM candidate and party takes a decision by reviewing case to case and place to place. Though time has not come yet, there are many eligible leaders in Odisha for the chief ministerial candidate," Oram added.

Senior party leader KV Singh Deo on the other hand claimed that BJP's vote share had doubled in Bijepur compared to 2014 elections.

"Our party had got 30,000 votes in Bijepur assembly constituency in 2014 which almost doubled in the recent by-election," said Deo.

Reacting to the statements of Union Minister Jual Oram, BJD leader and agriculture minister Pradeep Maharathy said, "BJP will never come to power in Odisha."

On 120 seats claim, the BJD Minister said it is a day dream of BJP as the party will only either manage to win 12 or 20 seats in Odisha.

Taking a jibe at the BJP leader, Maharathy said, "There is no water in Mahanadi , how will lotus bloom here?"

Expect a Bijepur kind of result as Naveen Patnaik will again become the Chief Minister of Odisha after 2019 elections which will see a triangular fight, Maharathy added.