Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: : Six Odia women Jawans have been selected in the 27-member BSF women squad which will showcase daredevilry acts on Rajpath in New Delhi on the Republic day this year.

For the first time, an all-women bikers’ squad of the BSF will perform on the Rajpath on the Republic Day. The six Odias in the squad are Mita Hansda, Banita Das, Rasmita Das, Krishna Gartia and Anushaya Samal and Subanti. The women bikers are expected to perform stunts and acrobatics on 350cc Royal Enfield Bullet motorcycles.

Earlier, exclusion of Odisha’s tableau in the Republic Day parade this year had disappointed many in the State. The Ministry of Defence had rejected the design of the State’s tableau for the parade.


As per sources, the State had sent four designs including one depicting the Paika Rebellion on its 200th anniversary year and the famous Thakurani Yatra of Berhampur. The design of Thakurani Yatra was appreciated by the jury members in the initial phase following which a one-minute demo of the tableau was also prepared. However, it got rejected in the last moment.