• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau


Bhubaneswar: Total 36,779 candidates have won uncontested in the panchayat polls 2017 due to filing of single nomination, said the State Election Commission Secretary (SEC) Rabindra Nath Sahu here today.

While 36,222 candidates got victorious for ward member post, 209 won uncontested for sarpanch, 347 for samiti member and one for zilla parishad posts.

Sahu stated, "In Polasara block of Ganjam district, a candidate won the zilla parishad post uncontested."

Also read: 1,89,099 candidates in panchayat poll fray: SEC office

He further informed, "Out of 853 zilla parishads, no polls are being held in two zones in Chitrakonda block and Komana of Nuapdada district."

Earlier, the SEC office had notified a final list of 1,89,099 candidates, who are in the panchayat poll fray, after the deadline for nomination withdrawal got ended on Jan 21.

Other Stories