We Report, You Decide

100 Aahar centres opened in second phase

Cuttack: The Odisha government on Thursday opened 100 more Aahar centres in the second phase of the programme in the state.

Chief minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the second phase Aahar programme at the Netaji Indoor stadium In the Millennium City.

Speaking on the occasion, Patnaik said the state government had opened 100 Aahar centres in all districts in the second phase of which four have been opened in Cuttack and five in Bhubaneswar. Provisions have been made to provide meal consisting of rice and dalma at Rs 5 per plate to about 60,000 people every day.

The chief minister laid emphasis on providing quality meal and clean drinking water to the people.

Notably, the state government had launched the first phase of Aahar Yojana in the state on April 1 in 2015 in which 21 centres were opened in Bhubneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela.

- Advertisement -

Taking note of the success of the programme and the need of the poor people who come to the urban areas in search of work, the state government later decided to extend the programme to all districts.

Read Our Next Story

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)