We Report, You Decide

BJP MLA Pradipta Naik named Leader of Opposition in Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: After hectic parleys, Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Naik on Monday was elected as the leader of BJP’s legislature party in the Odisha Assembly.

National President Amit Shah approved Naik’s name as the leader of the legislature party after due consultation, informed BJP’s Odisha in-charge, Arun Singh.

It is pertinent to mention here that BJP emerged as the second largest party with 23 members after 111 legislators of the ruling BJD.

Earlier, the names of BJP heavyweights Jayanarayan Mishra and Mohan Majhi were doing rounds for the coveted post.

“I am grateful to all senior leaders for electing me as the leader of BJP legislature party. It is for the first time that BJP will don the role of principle opposition in Odisha and we will work to raise the issues concerning the people in the Assembly without any compromises,” said Naik.

A meeting of BJP MLAs was held yesterday to select the leader of the legislature party at BJP headquarters in Bhubaneswar in presence of Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and party observer Saroj Pandey.

BJP sources said a decision was unanimously taken to authorise party’s national president Amit Shah to take decision regarding the leader of the legislative party.

You might also like

Comments are closed.