• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday named Sanat Gadtia as the party's candidate from Bijepur Assembly constituency. Gadtia will now take on BJD chief Naveen Patnaik who is also contesting from Hinjili Assembly seat.

Announcement of the candidate for Bijepur seat under Bargarh Lok Sabha constituency, which will go to the polls in the second phase elections in Odisha, was delayed by the BJP as it wanted to field a strong candidate who can give a tough fight to the BJD president.

Gadtia had quit the BJD and joined BJP last year after Rita Sahu (Bijepur MLA) joined the BJD ahead of the bypoll in the constituency following the death of her husband and then sitting legislator of the constituency Subal Sahu. Sahu had been a three-time MLA from the seat on Congress ticket.

For Hinjili Assembly seat, BJP has named party's State vice-president Pitambar Acharya as its candidate against BJD supremo. This will be the first time that Acharya, who is also a senior advocate of Orissa High Court, will fight the Assembly polls.

Meanwhile, today is the last day of nomination papers filing for the second phase polls in Odisha.

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.