Ramakanta Biswas

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal in Odisha has won bypolls to the two assembly seats in the State. While the ruling party once again won the Tirtol seat, it snatched the Balasore Sadar seat from the BJP.

BJD's Swarup Kumar Das won the Balasore seat by a margin of  13351 votes from BJP's Manas Kumar Dutta. Das secured 84097 votes while BJP's Manas Kumar Dutta got 70746 votes and Congress candidate Mamata Kundu garnered 4983 votes.

In Tirtol, BJD’s Bijaya Shankar Das won the by-polls by a margin of 41703 votes from BJP’s Rajkishore Behera. Das secured 88310 votes while BJP’s Rajkishore Behera got 46607 votes with Congress candidate Himanshu Bhusan Mallick garnering 28778 votes.

The two assembly segments had gone to polls on November 3. The counting of votes started at 8 am today amid tight security arrangements and strict adherence to COVID-19 guidelines.