• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: The ruling-BJD today named senior leader and seven-time legislator Surjya Narayan Patro as its candidate for the post of the Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Parliamentary Affairs minister, Bikram Keshari Arukha said Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has announced Patro's name as the party's candidate for the Speaker's post. During the election of the Speaker tomorrow, Arukha will propose Patro's name before the OLA Secretary.

"After the CM proposed and I supported Digapahandi MLA Surjya Narayan Patro and we have given a notice for the election of the Speaker. We hope that he will be elected unanimously. Tomorrow the House will be convened at 11 AM and the election of Speaker will be held," Arukha informed.

Election of Patro as the Assembly Speaker tomorrow is a mere formality as the ruling party has the majority in the House.

Also Read

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.