Ramakanta Biswas

Bhubaneswar: Normal life has been severely affected across Odisha with the beginning of 24-hour all India strike called by 10 Central Trade Unions (CTUs) protesting hike in price of essential commodities, unemployment, “anti-people” policies of the Centre and several other issues.

Educational institutions remained closed in several districts while public transport like bus and train services have been adversely affected due to the bandh. Similarly, business establishments and banks remained shut in many parts of the State. However, emergency services continue to remain unaffected.

Bhubaneswar-Bolangir Intercity, Puri-Rourkela Passenger train remained stranded at Bhubaneswar railway station while Howrah-Yesvantpur Express and Ichhapur-Cuttack MEMU halted at Berhampur. Similarly, Puri-Vishakhapatnam Passenger was also stuck at Gunupur station. Bhadrak-Brahmapur passenger, Kendujhargarh-Bhubaneswar passenger were also stranded en route at Bhadrak from 6.30 AM and Kendujhargarh from 6.30 AM.

The agitators staged rail roko at Pattasahi, Bimlagarh and Roxy stations in Bonai during the Bharat Bandh, affecting the train services. Kharagpur-Khurda passenger reportedly detained by agitators at Balasore, Puri-Ernakulam Express in Markona while Puri-Cuttack Passenger is yet to depart from Puri. Paradip Bharak Passenger also remained stranded at Cuttack station while Seva Express train has been detained at Rajsunakhala station in Nayagarh. The train passengers have been facing harrowing time as they remained stranded at various stations.

List of trains detained en route:

  1. Kendujhargarh-Bhubaneswar passenger at Kendujhargarh from 6.3 AM to 8. 40 AM.
  2. Bhubaneswar-Balangir Inter City at Bhubaneswar from 6. 30 AM and left at 7 15 AM.
  3. Chennai-Howrah Coromandal Express at Bhubaneswar from 7. 30 AM to 8. 22 AM.
  4. Ahamadabad-Puri Express at Balugaon from 7. 25 AM to 7. 50 AM.
  5. Jagadalpur-Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express at Balugaon from 8 AM to 8. 40 AM.
  6. Hyderabad-Howrah East Coast Express at Nirakarpur from 7.89 AM to 8.30 AM.
  7. Yesvantpur-Howrah Duronto Express controlled at Ichhapuram from and now left Chhatrapur at 9.07 AM.
  8. Secunderabad-Howrah Falaknuma Express at Sompeta from 6. 55 AM to 8.20 AM.
  9. Palasa-Bhubaneswar MEMU at Mandasa Road from 7.21 AM to 8.34 AM.
  10. Bangalore Cant.-Bhubaneswar Express at Palasa from 7.36 AM to 8.46 AM.

After intervention of government railway police (GRP) personnel, the rail roko agitations have been called off at Bhubaneswar, Kendujhargarh and Brahmapur stations.

Train movements in Waltair division is normal but due to control of trains en route in Khurda Road Division, the following trains will be controlled en route suitably.

  1. 12503 Bangalore Cant-Agartala Humsafar Express at Agartala
  2. 17480 Tirupati-Puri Express at Srikakulam Road.
  3. 22604 Villupuram-Kharagpur Express at Chipurupalle.
  4. 17016 Secunderabad-Bhubaneswar Visakha Express at Vizianagaram
  5. 18048 Vascodagama-Howrah Amaravati Express at Vizianagaram

Howrah-Puri Sri Jaganath Express, Howrah-Puri Garib Rath Express, Howrah-Puri Express, Hatia-Puri Tapaswini Express, Haridwar-Puri Kalinga Utkal Express and New Delhi-Puri Purusottam Express have already arrived at Puri station. However, Puri – Gunupur Passenger and Puri - Cuttack Passenger trains are yet to depart from Puri due to the agitation.

The situation is normal at Bhubaneswar station and only one goods train was detained. At some stations, trains started running after the GRP personnel persuaded the agitators.

Meanwhile, the railways authorities have cancelled several trains due to the ongoing agitation and late running of link trains on Wednesday.

Trains cancelled:

1. Cuttack-Bhadrak-Cuttack Passenger
2. Bhubaneswar-Brahmapur-Bhubaneswar Passenger
3. Pardip-Cuttack-Paradip Passenger


Other Stories