Saswat Singhdeo

Bhubaneswar: In a major reshuffle, Odisha government today appointed IPS officer Abhay as Director General of Police. Abhay replaced current DGP BK Sharma against whom a probe was initiated just hours before the announcement.

Similarly, Satyajit Mohanty has been posted as Director of Intelligence and will remain in-charge DGP till Abhay joins. While Sunil Ray will be the new Director of Fire Services and Home Guards, BK Sharma has been posted as OSD of the Home Department.

Abhay, a 1986 batch IPS officer of Odisha cadre, is currently posted as Director of Sardar Vallabhai Patel National Police Academy (SVPNPA). Earlier, he headed the Crime Branch special batch in Odisha.

Abhay also worked in the CBI, Bureau of Police Research and Development, CRPF and as Director General of Narcotics Control Bureau. During his seven-year tenure in the CBI, he was the DIG of Bank Frauds and Security Cell in New Delhi. The new DGP is the recipient of Indian Police medal for meritorious service and President's medal for distinguished service.

Meanwhile, just prior to the announcement, the Odisha government ordered an inquiry against BK Sharma after coming across gross irregularities in allotment of fire safety certificates to industries during his incumbency as the Director-General of Fire Services.

A three-member probe panel including Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy, Development Commissioner Suresh Mohapatra and the Home Secretary has been constituted by the State government to probe allegations against Sharma.