• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Thursday declared drought in nine districts- Bargarh, Bolangir, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Nuapada, Sambalpur, and Sundergarh.

Official sources said, nearly 2, 33, 173 hectares of agricultural land have been affected due to lack of rainfall. Moreover, the farmers have suffered crop loss of nearly 33 per cent and above in the drought-affected districts, informed Joint Relief Commissioner, Pravat Ranjan Mohapatra.

Mohapatra stated that the Odisha government had issued a notification regarding drought-hit areas yesterday based on the field verification conducted in several parts of the State.

“5,633 villages in 16 urban local bodies (ULBs) in 66 blocks of these nine districts have been affected by drought,” said Mohapatra.

As per the norms, a compensation of Rs 6,800 per hectare will be provided for non-irrigated and Rs 13,500 for irrigated land.

Mohapatra further informed that the collectors of the nine drought-hit districts have already been asked to conduct a village-wise enumeration of the affected-farmers so that compensation could be provided.

Other Stories