• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Suryakant Jena

Bhubaneswar: As six Lok Sabha and 41 Assembly seats in Odisha are going to vote in the fourth and last phase polling tomorrow, all eyes are on the fate of political heavyweights who are in the poll arena.

Lok Sabha battle:

Though six LS seat to witness polling, it's Kendrapara that has acquired the tag of epic battle.  Two time Kendrapara MP and BJP’s National Vice president Baijayant Jay Panda is locking horns with Ollywood actor and BJD’s Anubhav Mohanty. Joining them in the fray is Dharanidhar Nayak from Congress.

In Jagatsinghpur LS, a three-cornered contest is on cards. Fight is among BJP’s Bibhu Prasad Tarai, BJD candidate Rajashree Mallick and Congress contestant Pratima Mallick.

Another significant LS constituency is Balasore. A keen battle is on the cards between senior BJP leader Pratap Sarangi and sitting MP and BJD’s Rabindra Jena. OPCC chief Niranjan Patnaik’s son Nabajyoti is putting up a fight on Congress ticket.

In Mayurbhanj, BJD's new face Debashis Marandi is crossing swords with BJP’s Bisheswar Tudu and Congress-backed JMM candidate Anjani Soren.

In Bhadrak Lok Sabha constituency, with BJD fielding Manjulata Mandal instead of sitting MP Arjun Sethi, BJP pitted Arjun's son Abhimanyu Sethi. Congress leader Ananta Sethi’s daughter Madhumita Sethi tries her luck from the seat.

BJP candidate Amiya Mallick, Congress’ Manas Jena and BJD’s Sarmistha Sethi are locked in three-cornered fight for Jajpur Lok Sabha seat.

Battle for Assembly:

A total of 41 Assembly constituencies under the aforesaid six Lok Sabha seats will witness polling tomorrow.

Prominent among them are: Salepur AC - Former Congress leader and sitting MLA Prakash Behera is keen to retain the seat as he fights on BJP ticket this time.  Behera faces BJD’s Prasant Behera and Congress candidate Rabindranath Behera.

Kendrapara AC: Battle here is between BJD candidate and Finance Minister Sashi Bhusan Behera, who is sitting MLA from Jayadev AC, BJP’s Sunakar Behera and senior Congress leader Ganeswar Behera.

Aul AC:  A litmus test for BJP’s Dolagobinda Nayak, BJD MP Pratap Deb and Congress MLA Debendra Sharma in the seat.

Bhandaripokhari AC: OPCC Niranjan Patnaik is facing BJP’s Badrinarayan Dhal and senior BJD leader and Women & Child Development Minister Prafulla Samal.

Bangiriposi AC:  Former Minister and BJD leader Sudam Marndi  is trying his luck here.

Similarly, Industry Minister Ananta Das is in the fray to retain Bhograi seat and Former Mines Minister and BJD strongman Raghunath Mohanty fights from Basta on BJP ticket.

Senior BJD leader Amar Satpathy is contesting from Barchana seat. BJD’s Preetiranjan Ghadei, Congress leader Sarat Rout and BJP candidate Pradip Balasamanta will battle out for Sukinda AC.

Other prominent leaders in poll fray tomorrow are: former BJD veteran Damodar Rout is now the BJP candidate from Balikuda-Ersama.  Prasant Muduli (BJD) and Chiranjeev Biswal (Congress) are in Jagatsinghpur AC poll arena.

BJP Mahila Morcha president Pravati Parida will be battling out to wrest Nimapara from BJD’s Sameer Das. Bishnu Das from Tirtol AC will also witness polling tomorrow.

Other Stories