Vikash Sharma

Bhubaneswar: A thick blanket of security cover is in place for the 14-day lockdown which began in four Odisha districts- Ganjam, Cuttack, Khurda (including Bhubaneswar), Jajpur and entire Rourkela Municipal Corporation area on Saturday.

Odisha government has imposed the lockdown as part of its strategy to break the chain of COVID-19 in the four districts and Rourkela Municipal Corporation from where maximum positive cases have been reported in the State.

Barricades have been installed at multiple locations in the twin cities of Cuttack and Bhubaneswar while the entry routes have been completely sealed by Commissionerate Police. A complete restriction has been clamped on movement of individuals for non-essential works.

All the grocery and shops selling other essential commodities have been allowed to remain open from 6 AM to 1 PM during the 14-day lockdown in these districts.

Odisha government yesterday partially modified the lockdown order and added certain exemptions. As per the notification issued by the Special Relief Commissioner’s (SRC) office, mining operations, banks, insurance and financial institutions will continue to operate during the lockdown with certain conditions.

Shops dealing with fruits, fish, meal chicken and egg to remain open between 6 am and 1 pm subjected to strict compliance of physical distance and other COVID-l9 safety protocols. The local authorities may disperse fish, meat and chicken shops out of the traditional market areas.

Home delivery of liquor by the existing ON/OFF/OS licensees as per the prevailing guidelines of Excise Department has also been allowed as per the modified order of the State government.

(Edited By Pradeep Singh)

Also Read: Odisha Govt Modifies COVID-19 Lockdown Order, Adds Exemptions