• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

The Odisha government on Friday announced the closing down of schools in as many as 19 districts in view of the cyclonic storm 'Jawad'.

Live Updates: 'Jawad' Likely To Weaken By The Time It Reaches Puri Coast

The districts where schools will remain shut tomorrow (December 4) are Ganjam, Gajapati, Puri, Nayagarh, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Koraput, Rayagada, Cuttack, Khordha, Kandhamal, Keonjhar, Angul, Dhenkanal, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Malkangiri and Mayurbhanj.

"... it is decided to close all the schools under the administrative control of S&ME Department of your district on 04.12.2021 in view of the Cyclonic Storm warning issued by the Office of SRC, Odisha. There is possibility of heavy to very heavy rain fall in all the above districts under reference or in isolated places. The students should not come to school," the official letter of the Odisha School and Mass Education Department addressed to the DEOs of all the districts read.

However, the State government has said that if there is any exam schedule planned earlier, it may be conducted with utmost care under the supervision of the district administration. 

Besides, all the teaching and non-teaching staff have been directed to be available in the respective school point to help the district administration, if required. "The instruction of Collector & District Magistrate must be followed strictly," the notification added.

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) has predicted heavy rainfall in several parts of Odisha under the influence of the cyclone Jawad which is likely to cross the State’s coast near Puri on Sunday (December 5).

Other Stories