Cassian Baliarsingh

India’s run-machine Virat Kohli on Sunday created a new record of completing 1000 runs in the T20 World Cup. He completed the milestone and is the only Indian to create such a record after Sri Lanka batsman Mahela Jayawardene. 

Jayawardene was the first to make the record and completed 1016 runs in the T20 World Cup before taking retirement.

However, while Jayawardene has completed the landmark in 31 innings, Kohli was quicker and got the milestone in just 22 innings.

On the other hand, Rohit Sharma is the only other Indian batsman behind Kohli with more than 900 runs in the tournament’s history.

Earlier, Virat had completed 1000 runs in Test during the first session on Day 4 of the fourth Test at the Oval against England.

He reached the milestone to join the elite list of master blaster Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Kohli became the third Indian to score more than 1000 Test runs in Australia and England after Tendulkar and Dravid.

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar had amassed 1809 and 1575 runs in Australia and England respectively while Dravid managed 1143 and 1376 in both countries.

Meanwhile, India on Sunday won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in their third Group 2 match of Super 12 in the T20 World Cup at the Perth Stadium on Sunday. 

However, Virat Kohli played well during Pakistan and Netherlands failed to showcase his form and was caught in the boundary. 

Playing XIs 

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh. 

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, Tristan Stubbs, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi.