Bibhu Prasad Ray

After a stellar 2023 year in T20 International cricket, India’s Surya Kumar Yadav has been named the ICC T20 Cricketer of the Year for the second time in the row. 

Known for his outrageous shots and innovative shot selection, SKY has made a name of his own in the shortest format of cricket. Surya Kumar Yadav made his impact felt in the ICC World T20 2022 where he notched up 239 runs at an outstanding strike rate of 189. 

He made his debut against England in 2021 in Ahmedabad where he scored a quick fire 57. After that he tasted success by scoring 4 T20 International hundreds in just mere 60 innings which shows his hunger for success in T20 cricket. 

One noteworthy thing about Sky was his adaptability to score runs in home and away games. He scored 733 runs at an average of 48.86 and at a strike rate of above 150 in 2023.

Let’s have a look at his top T20 knocks for India:

117 Vs England in Nottingham 2022
68* Vs Hong Kong in Dubai 2022
68 Vs South Africa in Perth (World T20 2022)
100 Vs South Africa in Johannesburg 2023
111* Vs New Zealand in Mount Maunganui 2022

On November 2, 2022, he dethroned Mohammad Rizwan from No 1 ranking and since then he is on the top of T20 rankings.