Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Following the sting operation by a private TV channel that rocked Indian cricket, Chetan Sharma has given his resignation as the chairman of the selectors for the senior Indian team. BCCI has also accepted Sharma’s resignation. At present, Odisha star and former India opener Shiv Sundar Das is leading the selection committee.

As per sources, BCCI is likely to decide on the replacement of Sharma after the completion of Indian Premier League (IPL).

“Das will continue as the interim chairman of the selection committee for now. We will take a call on the fifth selector in due course of time. The teams for the Australia series are announced and we have a two-month gap after that for Indian Premier League. We can take a call on that later,” said a BCCI official.

However, BCCI is currently facing dilemma on whether to recall some of the shortlisted candidates or invite fresh applications for the job.

Notably, Sharma was reappointed BCCI’s chief selector after being sacked last year.

Interim chairman of selection committee Das has played 23 Tests for India, the most number among the current lot of selectors in the panel.

Earlier, Das was the coach at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) and with the Indian women’s squad. He has also the experience as batting coach of Punjab.