Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

The first Indian Veteran Premier League (IVPL) is all set to begin on November 17, 2023. 

Legendary cricketers like Virender Sehwag, Sanath Jayasurya, Chris Gayle and Suresh Raina will take part in the league. The tournament is jointly organised by the Indian Veterans Cricket Board and the Indian Power Cricket Academy.

A total of six teams will play in the tournament. Each team will consist of two foreign players and at least five former Ranji Trophy cricketers.

Recently, Gayle unveiled the jerseys of the six teams - VVIP Ghaziabad, Mumbai Lions, Rajasthan Legends, Chhattisgarh Sultans, Telangana Tigers and Delhi Warriors.

Gayle is immensely popular for his explosive batting in T20 cricket. He is a veteran of 103 Tests and 301 ODIs. The swashbuckling West Indies batsman last played international cricket in 2021. He has no immediate plans to announce his retirement. He would continue to play in various leagues around the world, both professional and veteran events.

Registration for IVPL will start after a week and teams and marquee players will be selected through a draft in Mumbai in August.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now