Odishatv Bureau

The Odisha Government on Wednesday ordered compulsory retirement of four Coaches of Odisha Council of Sports on grounds of inefficiency and dereliction of duty.

The four coaches dismissed from service have been identified as Pravakar Tripathy and Jnanandra Prasad Badhei, both coaches in Volleyball, Shankar Prasad Adhikari a coach in Boxing, and Manoj Kumar Das, Handball coach.

The decision for compulsory retirement to the 4 coaches was executed based on the recommendations of a Review Committee for premature Retirement of Government Servants in the Sports & Youth Services Department.

Earlier the panel had assessed the performance of the coaches and found them to be poor performers having no substantial contribution to sports discipline.

Notably, the State Government in its 2019 circular has clearly stated that service records of government employees, aged 50 years and more, will be reviewed and premature retirement will be given to weed out officers and employees with doubtful integrity or inefficiency.

A few days ago, Odisha government while cracking the whip on the corrupt and incompetent officials, ordered compulsory retirement of eight officers, including some from Odisha Administrative Services (OAS).