• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Sharmili Mallick

The 4th National Para-Badminton Championship was inaugurated by the Odisha Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera at Bhubaneswar on Friday.

As many as 550 para-shuttlers, including two Khel Ratna awardees, four Arjuna awardees and more than one hundred international players from 28 states are participating in the three-day event that will conclude on December 26. The event was originally supposed to be held in March last year. However, it was postponed owing the Covid-19 pandemic.

The event will be conducted at two venues¬-- East Coast Railway Indoor Stadium and Udaan Badminton Academy in the Capital City.

Speaking at the inaugural function, State Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera said, “Our Para athletes have brought great glory to India at the Tokyo Paralympics and we are proud of each one of them. It is a big day for us as we host the 4th National Para Badminton Championship and welcome each and every one to this Championship and I wish everyone the very best for the games,” he added.

The mega championship will feature singles, doubles and mixed event in six, including WH1 (Wheelchair/ severe impairment), WH2 (Wheelchair/minor impairment), SL3 (Standing/lower limb impairment/minor), SL4 (Standing/ lower limb impairment/severe), SU5 (Standing/upper limb impairment) and SH6 (Standing/short stature) classes.

Other Stories