Cassian Baliarsingh

Hitman Rohit Sharma’s heroics in the T20 World Cup 2024 helped team India avenge Australia the humiliating 2023 World Cup defeat. On November 19, he was supposed to lead the Men in Blue to glory but had to walk away with tears.

On June 24, he had all the reason to avenge Australia and went all out to ensure the Kangaroos' exit from the World Cup. With their exit, Rohit Sharma & Co has sailed to the semi finals and is all set to clash with England at Providence Stadium, Guyana.

This will be the repeat of the 2nd semifinal of the 2022 T20 World Cup as the Jos Buttler-led England had crushed India by 10 wickets. Now India have the chance to beat England and seek revenge as umpire Richard Kettleborough, considered as the bad omen for team India, won't be there- Chris Gaffaney of New Zealand and Australia's Rodney Tucker are the on-field umpires for the match.

It turns out Richard Kettleborough has been the umpire in a number of losses that Team India has suffered in ICC knockouts. He was also the third umpire during the ICC WTC Final 2023. He was the umpire during some of India’s most heartbreaking losses including the 2014 T20 World Cup Final, 2015 World Cup semi-final, 2016 T20 World Cup semi-final, 2017 Champions Trophy final and 2019 World cup semi-final.

So, Indian fans were in a lot of apprehensions about his presence this time. Luckily, Richard isn’t the umpire, with Chris and Rodney taking over the charges of being on-field umpires. This has come as great hope for Indian cricket fans who are looking to take revenge of the 2022 T20 World Cup loss.

Meanwhile, Indian umpire Nitin Menon will officiate the first semifinal between Afghanistan and South Africa along with England's Richard Illingworth as field umpires.

Also ReadT20 World Cup 2024: England Make fun of India Ahead of Semi-final

Semifinals Match Timings

1st semi-final: South Africa Vs Afghanistan 
Start at 8.30 pm local time on Wednesday, June 26
Venue: Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba

2nd semi-final: India Vs England 
Start at 10.30 am local time on Thursday, June 27 
Venue: Guyana's Providence Stadium

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now