Site Logo

IPL 2025: Ryan Rickelton called back despite being caught, lesser known rule explained

PUBLISHED: LAST UPDATE:

It was confirmed by the third umpire that the Proteas wicketkeeper's gloves were ahead of the stumps when Zeeshan bowled.

Ryan Rickelton called back despite being caught

Mumbai Indians (MI) scripted their second victory on the trot after defeating SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) by four wickets in the ongoing IPL 2025 at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday.

Blunder by Klaasen 

An interesting thing happened during the match that caught the attention of several fans. MI's opening batter Ryan Rickelton made his way back to the pavilion in the seventh over of the innings. However, wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen's huge blunder costed SRH big time during the match.

Rickelton made his way back to the middle despite being caught by Pat Cummins at cover in the bowling of Zeeshan Ansari.

Rickelton had made his way to the boundary, and the next batter, Suryakumar Yadav, had joined the middle. However, the fourth umpire intervened at that time.

Must Read: IPL 2025: Is there rift within Rajasthan Royals team?

It was confirmed by the third umpire that the Proteas wicketkeeper's gloves were ahead of the stumps when Zeeshan bowled. Thus Rickelton got a second life. After the television camera confirmed it, the decision was reversed.

MCC Law

As per MCC's law 27.3.1-The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler- touches the bat or person of the striker, or passes the wicket at the striker’s end, or the striker attempts a run.

The next Law, 27.3.2 adds-In the event of the wicket-keeper contravening this Law, the striker’s end umpire shall call and signal No ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball.

Otv advertisement
Loading more stories...