Somatirtha Purohit

Delhi Capitals made strategic player retentions ahead of the IPL 2024 season, securing key names such as Rishabh Pant, David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Mitchell Marsh, among others. The franchise opted to release 11 players, including Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, and Mustafizur Rahman.

While there were speculations surrounding Prithvi Shaw's retention due to a less-than-impressive performance in IPL 2023, the talented batsman has been retained. On the flip side, Manish Pandey, Sarfaraz Khan, Chetan Sakariya, Ripal Patel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, and Aman Khan have been released from the squad.

Among the notable players released, Rovman Powell's departure is noteworthy, along with Rahman and Rilee Rossouw. As Delhi Capitals gear up for the IPL auction in Dubai next month, they now possess a purse of INR 28.95 crore. With nine slots yet to be filled, including five overseas positions, the team is poised for strategic acquisitions.

Retained Players of Delhi Capitals for IPL 2024

  • Rishabh Pant

  • Pravin Dubey

  • David Warner

  • Vicky Ostwal

  • Prithvi Shaw

  • Anrich Nortje

  • Abishek Porel

  • Kuldeep Yadav

  • Axar Patel

  • Lungi Ngidi

  • Lalit Yadav

  • Khaleel Ahmed

  • Mitchell Marsh

  • Ishant Sharma

  • Yash Dhull

  • Mukesh Kumar

Released Players of Delhi Capitals for IPL 2024

  • Rovman Powell

  • Rilee Rossouw

  • Manish Pandey

  • Sarfaraz Khan

  • Phil Salt

  • Mustafizur Rahman

  • Kamlesh Nagarkoti

  • Ripal Patel

  • Aman Khan

  • Priyam Garg

  • Chetan Sakariya

Read More | LSG And Gujarat Titans Unveil IPL 2024 Retained And Released Players' List, Check Here