Skipper Virat Kohli scored a fifty and Glenn Maxwell blasted 56 off 27 deliveries as Royal Challengers posted 165/6 in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians in an IPL 2021 match here on Sunday.

Kohli (51) rescued RCB after his opening partner Devdutt Padikkal was out for a duck, completing his 10,000 runs in T20 cricket in the process. With Maxwell going great guns, it looked like Bangalore would pile up a big total. But Jasprit Bumrah (3/36) sent back Maxwell and AB de Villiers off successive deliveries as Mumbai Indians pegged RCB back and restricted them to a more manageable 165.

Earlier today, Mumbai Indians won the toss and decided to field first against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 39th match of the IPL 2021 here on Sunday.

Hardik Pandya is back in the Mumbai squad. Whereas, RCB named Kyle Jamieson, Daniel Christian and Shahbaz Ahmed in their playing XI.

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma after the toss said, "Just feel that we have tried everything in the two games we have played. From here on, every game is important. Need to focus on the game at hand... Keep ticking the small boxes and see what we can do as a team here. [Hardik] is very passionate about the game and the comeback. He is playing tonight. Saurabh misses out, and we have Hardik back."

Meanwhile, RCB skipper Virat Kohli said, "Would have bowled first as well. Looks like a nice, hard wicket. There is some grass coverage... We have made mistakes ourselves, and not been outplayed. In a T20, you don't have much time to make a comeback. You need to back yourself... We have done that in the first leg. (Mumbai) are the strongest side IPL has seen... We have had some nice encounters over the years."

Brief scores:
Royal Challengers Bangalore 165/6 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 51, Glenn Maxwell 56, Srikar Bharat 32, Jasprit Bumrah 3/36) against Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Shahbaz Ahmed, Daniel Christian, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal.